clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Several Deacs Named to Pre-Season Award Watch Lists

Wake Forest has guys on the list for the Biletnikoff, Outland, Doak Walker watch lists

NCAA Football: ACC Media Days Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Wake Forest football already has individual players racking up national attention, as the national award watch lists are coming out.

Offensive linemen Ryan Anderson and Phil Haynes have been named to the Outland Trophy Preseason watch list, as they anchor one of the most experienced offensive lines in the country. The Outland Trophy is given to the best interior offensive lineman in college football each year.

Greg Dortch was named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list, as he looks to return to his explosive playmaking from last season. The Biletnikoff Award is given to the top college receiver each year.

Matt Colburn II was named to the Doak Walker Award watch list, as he looks to start the season continuing where left off last year, and looks to rush for over 1000 yards on the season. The Doak Walker Award is given each year to the top running back in the nation.

The ACC also released the preseason All-ACC teams as well. Dortch received the fifth most votes for Player of the Year, and was named to the team as an all-purpose back. Haynes was named one of the offensive linemen on the team.

Congrats to all of these Deacs. August will be here soon!