clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Seven Deacs Earn All ACC Honors

The All ACC teams have been announced, and 7 Wake Forest players were named to 8 positions

NCAA Football: Clemson at Wake Forest Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

The 2018 football regular season has come to an end, and that means it’s time for the All ACC team honors to be announced. This year, Wake Forest had 7 players receiving honors for 8 positions.

Greg Dortch received first team honors as both a return specialist and for all purpose yards. He finished the season with 89 receptions for 1078 yards and 8 TDs as a receiver, while adding 25 punt returns for 276 yards and 2 TDs and 18 kick returns for 376 yards as a returner.

Phil Haynes, Essang Bassey, and Cameron Glenn received 2nd team honors at their respective positions. Bassey led the team in passes defended with 14, while adding 70 tackles, 1 interception, and 1 fumble return for a touchdown. Glenn finished the year second on the team in tackles with 91 and added 1.5 sacks, 4 passes defended, and 2 forced fumbles. While I don’t have a lot of stats for the O-line, I can tell you the Deacs averaged almost 6 yards per carry running to the left behind Haynes.

Wake also had Justin Strnad, Ryan Anderson, and Willie Yarbary named Honorable Mention. Strnad finished the season leading the team in tackles with 94, and Yarbary led the team in sacks this season with 4.5.

You can view the rest of the All ACC teams here.

Congratulations to our guys and Go Deacs!