clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Wake Forest's 2015-2016 ACC Schedule Released

New, 6 comments

When are Wake's biggest games?

Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

The opponents and locations had already been known, but today the Atlantic Coast Conference released the dates and times of the ACC basketball schedule. Take a look at Wake's schedule below. Which stretches do you all find the easiest? Which stretches do you all find to be the hardest? I'll share some thoughts below.

NON-CONFERENCE SCHEDULE

Opponent Location Date
Louisville Away Sat, Jan 3
Duke HOME Wed, Jan 6
NC State HOME Sun, Jan 10
Virginia Tech Away Wed, Jan 13
Syracuse HOME Sat, Jan 16
North Carolina Away Wed, Jan 20
Miami Away Sat, Jan 23
Virginia HOME Mon, Jan 25
Notre Dame Away Sun, Jan 31
Clemson HOME Tues, Feb 2
Florida State HOME Sat, Feb 6
Georgia Tech Away Wed, Feb 10
NC State Away Sat, Feb 13
Pittsburgh Away Tues, Feb 16
Boston College HOME Sun, Feb 21
Notre Dame HOME Wed, Feb 24
Virginia Tech HOME Sun, Feb 28
Duke Away Tues, Mar 1

At first glance, this schedule is about as good as we could have hoped for. It starts off very tough with a road trip to Louisville, followed by a home game against Duke. The positive is that we know that will be one of Duke's first true road games of the season. Wake then has a very winnable stretch that includes home games against NC State and Syracuse, as well as a road trip to Virginia Tech.

The next three game stretch features three challenging games. The best hope there is that Virginia takes a drop this year after losing Justin Anderson. Wake Forest then has another manageable stretch that features a road trip to Notre Dame followed by home contests against Clemson and Florida State. Notre Dame loses Jerian Grant, so the defending ACC Champions can be had. Wake Forest should beat Clemson, and while Florida State will be very talented, they will also be young.

I will be happy if Wake Forest is able to come away with one win out of the Georgia Tech, NC State, and Pittsburgh road stretch. After that, though, Wake Forest finishes with home games against Boston College, Notre Dame, and Virginia Tech, before traveling to Duke for their senior night. Hopefully Grayson Allen doesn't outscore us in the first half this time.

The 2015-2016 version of the Demon Deacons should be better in Danny Manning's second year. How many conference games will the Deacs win? Let me know in the comments section below.