clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ACC News: Parker, Warren headline All-ACC team

Jabari Parker and T.J. Warren are top vote-getters in season-ending awards. Wake Forest, Virginia Tech shut out of postseason awards.

Duke's Jabari Parker
Duke's Jabari Parker
Streeter Lecka

Freshman Jabari Parker of Duke and N.C. State sophomore T.J. Warren received 77 first place votes apiece and were the leading vote-getters for the 2013-14 All-ACC Basketball Team, released Monday. In addition to Parker and Warren, the first team was rounded out by Marcus Paige (Sophomore, UNC), C.J. Fair (Senior, Syracuse) and K.J. McDaniels (Junior, Clemson). The Pack's Warren spent last week stating his case for Player of the Year, scoring 41 and 42 points in back-to-back games. Parker closed out the regular season with a dominating performance in a win over North Carolina, and leads the league in rebounding with 9 boards per game.

The second team is comprised of Parker's teammate Rodney Hood as well as Syracuse freshman guard Tyler Ennis. North Carolina's James Michael McAddo, Jr. also made the second team, even receiving two first place votes. Malcolm Brogdon of Virginia and Pittsburgh's Lamar Patterson round out the second team. In all, every ACC team but Virginia Tech and Wake Forest was represented on the All-Conference teams, as the Hokies and Deacons failed to place anyone on the "Honorable Mention" team.

The most hotly debated issue right now on social media and sports talk radio is the ACC Player of the Year voting, with much of the debate centering around Parker and Warren. That award will be announced Tuesday, prior to the start of this week's ACC Tournament.  All voting was conducted by members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).