clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wake Forest AD Ron Wellman To Head 2013-14 NCAA Basketball Committee

According to an official Wake Forest news release from SID Steve Shutt, athletic director Ron Wellman will be the chair of the Division I NCAA men's basketball committee for the 2013-2014 season.

The full news release is below, but for a man as successful as Ron Wellman, this is another notch in his belt. It does make me laugh, though, when I think of the strings that will need to be pulled for his beloved Deacons to make the NCAA Tournament.

Hey, Coach Cal wins the way he does at Kentucky. We will use our administration to do the exact same thing!

I'm joking!!!!! (sorta). Full press release below!

INDIANAPOLIS---Ron Wellman, the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University, has been elected chair of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for the 2013-14 season. Wellman is finishing his third year on the committee and will serve as the vice chair of the committee for the upcoming season, supporting Mike Bobinski, the director of athletics at Xavier University, who will be the chair for the 2012-13 season.

"It is an honor to be selected to chair the committee," said Wellman. "We have excellent committee members who are conscientious and fair and take their responsibility very seriously. I look forward to my continuing relationship with them in this new role."

Wellman is the longest tenured director of athletics in the Atlantic Coast Conference, having served in that capacity since October 1992. He is past chair of the NCAA Division I Management Council and the Division I Baseball Committee, and was previously the president of the Division I-A Athletics Directors’ Association, the chair of the NCAA Baseball Academic Enhancement Committee, and a member of the NCAA Diversity Leadership Strategic Planning Committee.

A native of Celina, Ohio, Wellman earned both his undergraduate and master’s degrees from Bowling Green State University. He previously served as head baseball, assistant basketball and assistant football coach at Elmhurst College, and head baseball coach at Northwestern University.

The members of the Division I Men’s Basketball Committee for the 2012-13 academic year include Joe Alleva, director of athletics, Louisiana State University; Scott Barnes, director of athletics, Utah State University; Mike Bobinski, director of athletics, Xavier University; Joe Castiglione, director of athletics, University of Oklahoma; Doug Fullerton, commissioner, Big Sky Conference; Mark Hollis, director of athletics, Michigan State University; Judy MacLeod, executive associate commissioner, Conference USA; Bernard Muir, director of athletics, University of Delaware; and Jamie Zaninovich, commissioner, West Coast Conference.